top of page

Menna van Praag

Menna's the author of six magical realism novels: Men, Money & Chocolate, The House at the End of Hope Street, The Dress Shop of Dreams, The Witches of Cambridge, The Lost Art of Letter WritingThe Patron Saint of Lost Souls, all set among the cafes and colleges of Cambridge. The first two instalments of her fantasy trilogy, The Sisters Grimm and Night of Demons and Saints, are published by Transworld (UK) & HarperVoyager (US). The third instalment, Child of Earth and Sky, will be published in October 2023.

Menna studied Modern History at Balliol College, Oxford. She's a Royal Literary Fellow at Anglia Ruskin University and teaches both the Certificate and the Diploma at the University of Cambridge's Institute of Continuing Education. She's just been shortlisted for the "Masters Teacher of the Year 2022" after teaching The History of the Novel on the MA in Creative Writing at ARU. She reads too many books & eats too much cake - if such a thing is possible.

Menna's suggested reading list
Menna's website:


"Van Praag spins a compelling, intensely poetic narrative of empowerment and self-realisation."

The Guardian, on The Sisters Grimm

bottom of page